Wash and Wipe

Both girls have what are called cares done every eight hours. It consists of them having their head, ear, neck and mouth wiped. Then cleaning their umbilical cord and finally a nappy change.

Yesterday Matt and I saw this for the first time on Ellie and then it was my turn on Hannah. I don’t think I have ever been so scared, excited and nervous all at the same time. They look like they would break! I have to say though they are much tougher than they look.

This morning I was able to wash and wipe both girls with some assistance from the nurse. Tonight however I did everything for Ellie on my own! I even moved her little head to get to her neck for the first time. An amazing experience that is just bringing me closer and closer to these beautiful little girls.

image

*Deb

4 thoughts on “Wash and Wipe

    • Thanks Helen. It was so amazing and the better I feel the more I can do. Got tired and a bit sore after doing both this morning. But totally worth it!

      Like

  1. Wonderful to see a photo of Mummy’s (very capable!) hands so close to your beautiful little girl! Keep growing, great nieces! Mummy (and SO many others including your great aunt) can’t wait to give you a big cuddle. Helen’s right, Debbie – you are positively amazing!!! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

